IEEE IEEE Computer Society
26th IEEE Annual International Computer Software and Applications Conference

COMPSAC is a major international forum for researchers, practitioners, managers, and policy makers interested in computer software and applications. It was first held in Chicago in 1977 and has just celebrated its silver jubilee in the same city in 2001. The planned program will include original research papers, industrial case studies, participative workshops and discussion panels.
The major theme for the 26th conference will be:


Full contents
  • Sir Tony Hoare, FRS
    University of Oxford, England and Microsoft
    The speaker has recently joined Microsoft as a Senior Researcher. He was pleased to find that assertions feature quite strongly in long-lived software currently on the market. He will summarise his experience of current Microsoft practice in software development and redevelopment, and speculate briefly on the future.
  • Dr. Terrence M.S. Heng
    Senior Vice President and General Manager, Motorola Global Software Group, USA
    His speech will cover such topics as reconfigurable architectures, reuse, automatic code generation, etc.
Chair: Members:
  • C. K. Chang, The University of Illinois at Chicago, USA
  • A. K. Hawkes, Software Engineering Associates, USA
  • C.V. Ramamoorthy, University of California at Berkeley, USA
  • T. H. Tse, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Program Chair: Regular Paper Sub-Committee:
  • Keith Bennett, Durham University, UK
  • Stefan Biffl, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
  • Darius Blasband, Raincode, Belgium
  • Maarten Boasson, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Jonathan Bowen, South Bank University, UK
  • David Budgen, Keele University, UK
  • Richard Chapman, Auburn University, USA
  • T.Y. Chen, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
  • Yaw-Chung Chen, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
  • Albert M.K. Cheng, University of Houston, USA
  • Shing-Chi Cheung, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
  • William C. Chu, TungHai University, Taiwan
  • Andrea De Lucia, University of Sannio, Italy
  • Giuseppe A. Di Lucca, Naples University, Italy
  • Helen Edwards, Sunderland University, UK
  • Hans-Dieter Ehrich, Technische Universitaet Braunschweig, Germany
  • John Favaro, Pisa University, Italy
  • Harald Gall, Technical University of Vienna
  • Tibor Gyimothy, Szeged University, Hungry
  • Rachel Harrison, Reading University, UK
  • Hans-Ludwig Hausen, German National Research Centre for IT, Germany
  • Peter Henderson, Southampton University, UK
  • Jyh-Sheng Ke, Information Industry Institute, Taiwan
  • Rudolf K. Keller, Zuhlke Engineering AG, Switzerland
  • Kane Kim, University of California at Irvine, USA
  • Ralf Laemmel, Vrije Universiteit, The Netherlands
  • Francis C. M. Lau, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Tsau Young Lin, San Jose State University, USA
  • Andrew Malton, University of Waterloo, Canada
  • Bruce McMillin, University of Missouri-Rolla, USA
  • Marco Casassa Mont, Hewlett-Packard, UK
  • Dennis B. Mulcare, Telcordia Technologies, USA
  • Alexander Romanovsky, Newcastle University, UK
  • Philippe Roose, University of Pau, France
  • Dick B. Simmons, Texas A&M University, USA
  • Stanislaw Szejko, Technical University of Gdansk, Poland
  • Andrey A. Terekhov, St. Petersburg State University, Russia
  • Wei-Tek Tsai, Arizona State University, USA
  • Giuseppe Visaggio, Bari University, Italy
  • Baowen Xu, Southeast University, China
  • Qiwen Xu, University of Macau, Macau
  • Y.T. Yu, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Jian Zhang, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Xiaofang Zhou, University of Queensland, Austrilia
Industry Sub-Committee:
  • Mark Harman, Brunel University, UK
  • Stephen Chen, Motorola Global Software Group, USA
  • Doo-Hwan Bae, KAIST, Korea
  • Pearl Brereton, Keele University, UK
  • Harry Sneed, Independent Consultant, Germany
Panel Sub-Committee:
  • Paul Layzell, UMIST, UK
  • Jeffrey Voas, Cigital, USA
  • Mikio Aoyama, Nanzan University, Japan
  • Elsabe Cloete, University of South Africa, South Africa
  • Nader Kameli, Guidant Corporation, USA
Workshop Sub-Committee:
  • J. Barrie Thompson, University of Sunderland, UK
  • Bhavani Thuraisingham, MITRE Corp., USA
  • Arnold Kwong, Independent Consultant, USA
  • Guenther Ruhe, University of Calgary, Canada
  • K. Vairavan, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, USA
International Publicity Sub-Committee:
  • Robert Hierons, Brunel University, UK
  • Gerardo Canfora, University of Sannio, Italy
  • Chin-Chen Chang, National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan
  • Hong Mei, Peking University, China
  • Akira K. Onoma, Hosei University, Japan
Local Arrangements Sub-Committee:
  • Rachel McCrindle, Reading University, UK
  • Hong Zhu, Oxford Brookes University, UK
Local arrangements Keble Oxford
What/Where/How Keble College Pictures of Oxford


IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society Press



For enquiries related to the conference program, please contact:
    Hongji Yang
Program Chair
Software Technology Research Laboratory
Faculty of Computing Sciences and Engineering
De Montfort University
Leicester, LE1 9BH, England
Telephone: +44 (0)116-250-6398
Fax: +44 (0)116-250-6399

For general enquiries, please contact:
    Ian Sommerville, General Chair
Computing Department
Lancaster University,
Lancaster, LA1 4YR, UK
    Stephen S. Yau, Standing Committee Chair
Computer Science and Engineering Department
Arizona State University
P.O.Box 875406, Tempe, AZ 85287-5406, USA